
Located in the historic rock Armory, the Museum has transformed a city landmark into the cornerstone of an entire cultural district. The facility was built in 1936, prior to World War II, as a military armory for Company E, 167th Infantry Division.
Built under the Works Progress Administration (WPA), the armory was constructed of local rough limestone. With its distinctive castellated, or castle-like, architecture, the building sits on a tree-covered hilltop adjacent to Guntersville’s highly rated Public Library and overlooking the acclaimed Whole Backstage Community Theatre.
Today, the historic Armory is home to the Guntersville Museum. Located near the southernmost point of the Tennessee River and overlooking the Lake Guntersville area, the Museum offers a unique perspective on the history and culture of the region. As a living repository of local history, the Museum gives visitors the opportunity to explore exhibits ranging from Native American artifacts to the stories of interesting local personalities.
View the Museum’s Collection Here!
Â
For information on Membership or to make a donation to the Museum visit the following link: Membership and Support
History of the Guntersville Armory
The Guntersville Armory was constructed in 1936 under President Roosevelt’s Works Progress
Administration. The project was a collaboration between the WPA and the Public Works Administration. The property on which the building is situated was deeded to the city in the early 1900’s by the Wyeths, a very influential Guntersville family.  ​The armory was constructed to house Company E of the 167th Infantry of the Alabama National Guard. Our local congressman, Joe Starnes, a member of the Armed Services Committee, was very influential in a national armory construction program. His perseverance led to the construction of numerous armories across the country as well as our own. After its completion in 1936, the armory was used for drills, training, and classroom instruction. President Roosevelt called the Guard to active duty in 1940 and while the 167th Infantry was away during WWII, the local home guard trained in the facility. Upon their return, the 167th used the building for training until they were called to the Korean War. ​The armory has always been a prime locale for social events, community functions and meetings. During construction of the Guntersville Dam the building was used for dances, and later for parties that coincided with the town’s annual boat races. ​A new armory was constructed elsewhere in the 1970s and the old building was turned over to the city of Guntersville. It was used as the local fire station until the mid-1980s and after renovation in 2006 the Guntersville Museum was relocated here. The old rock armory building is now listed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
